character-awkward1.png

I keep wanting to start a blog to record my ideas and feelings and to help me think. I guess it’s also as a record to help me remember what I learn each day in this rapidly-changing industry I work in.

Starting this new year, there are many exciting things to look forward to…

I will be attending ASTD Techknowledge for the first time in a couple of weeks and it will be very interesting to see how it compares to my beloved DevLearn, which I attended this past November for the 4th year.

Currently, I am project manager on 4 elearning projects. Yes, frightening because in my work project management means I am also designer and developer because there is no one else who does this work here currently. But, I am extremely thrilled to have much more control over the content and managing SMEs, etc. so as overwhelming as it may be, it is really very awesome.

Following a bit of disappointing news that my employer will not be helping with tuition, I am still trying to pick a graduate program to begin this year. With two kids who will be following very quickly on my heels into college and a spouse who is less than excited about the idea, I am having a tough time deciding. Initially I had picked Pepperdine’s MA in Learning Technology but I am leaning closer to UC Denver’s program with it’s much lower cost and rather impressive curriculum. Most applications are due in May so who know how many times I will change my mind before then? The more time that passes, however, the more I must ignore that tiny, horrible, nagging voice trying to talk me out of it completely. Tiny voice – I am not too old darn you! Tiny voice, it will be totally worth it! Must … keep … going!

So much to look forward to in 2014. Who knows what’s ahead? It’s all an adventure!

Published by

Darlesa

Merging a lifetime in the arts and over 15 years in marketing and communications with a passion for learning and helping others learn, I take pride in striving to design online and blended learning experiences which engage thoughtful reflection, improve performance and motivate and excite learners … or at least make compliance training a little less painful :)

Leave a Reply

