My Robots, I Can Be With them Again!

27337ba9bd2f4e4d6708b3d6d5f146bc

Chapter 4 from Lankshear & Knobel’s,  The New Literacies Sampler: New Literacies and Social Practices of Digital Remixing.

It was fascinating to consider the different ideas of remixing and mashups as they apply to a variety of new literacies and how they evolved.  When I’d think of the term remix in the past I would only think of music or video.   We explored concepts and examples of everything from writing to speaking to programming and beyond as forms of the remix, and remix as a means of building and evolving cultures.

I found the basic ideas of remixing very interesting.  I had never thought of covering a song or reinterpreting and forming new opinions about an article as remixing.  This completely makes sense to me and I agree that remixing is how we change, create, and advance ideas and art.

Using Hypothes.is in the small group was also a great experience.  Online learning programs can be lonely.   I really felt like I was reading along with my classmates and commenting and discussing the reading together.  This is probably the first time an online discussion group has felt like this to me.  However, it can also be time consuming, because I keep finding myself going down rabbit trails to follow some cool link someone has annotated or start watching a cool video, etc.   Discussion groups in online classes often seem very much more like essay assignments.  Often discussions are dominated by a few strong personalities in the group, and it can be intimidating to participate.  This makes the use of Hypothes.is a much more democratic and friendly approach to annotation.

I was amazed by how large the world of fanfiction is and think it is really a fantastic way to get people involved in creating what they are passionate about – in doing rather than just watching.  I was intrigued with the idea of creating new stories around the characters you love and being able to continue the life of novels long past the original artists works.

http://asimov-fanfic.livejournal.com/7980.html

I am still, however, confounded by the ideas of copyright and what is appropriate to “borrow” when doing mashups.  I suppose the idea of copyrighting is something that will evolve in our digital mashup world that we are increasingly living in.

 

 

Published by

Darlesa

Merging a lifetime in the arts and over 15 years in marketing and communications with a passion for learning and helping others learn, I take pride in striving to design online and blended learning experiences which engage thoughtful reflection, improve performance and motivate and excite learners … or at least make compliance training a little less painful :)

Leave a Reply

