Week 5 – Mashing It Up To Reinforce Learning

This week for my digital story critique, I am actually using a digital story I created for work. this week.  I believe this fits in with the idea of the digital story mashup as well as my personal interest theme of building self confidence.

How does this project fit into my interest theme?

I began this job just over 5 months ago.  My last job had begun to feel a bit like Groundhog’s Day and I knew I needed a change.  One of the projects that interested me in this new gig was, ironically, leading and facilitating instructor-led management training classes in addition to designing and developing online content.  At my last position I would never have done any instructor-led training at all and definitely not management training.  There were other people to do that.  I was the only Learning Tech person, so I was loaded with online, mostly compliance training.  This was not only a fun departure, but a way for me to expand my experience as a learning professional.  Also, it seemed like a fun stretch to me that I’d be facilitating management training, as I’ve always stayed clear of management jobs in the past.  This was definitely something I had to just decide I was going to figure out how to get myself to do confidently.  This was going to require some major power posing!

I’m happy to say I have wrapped up the first module out of the 5 management classes successfully.  We also wanted some sort of a reinforcement program for the content.  I created this video was to reinforce and remind attendees to the first module, called Meeting Leadership Challenges, about the processes and tools that we learned and used in class, and hopefully help them change their behavior rather than just attend class and forget about it.

This was a fun project for me, but required many different types of involvement and dimensions to complete it.  I had to write a script, stage directions and scenarios, find actors and film them, while giving them direction.  I then edited and mashed up the many segments of video and audio files using Camtasia and added what I hope are some fun elements including video transitions, a few graphics and some on-screen text.   I also included a couple of popular reference audio pieces such as the Masterpiece Theatre music intro, a classical piece to back up my coworker with a British accent who I convinced to be the narrator, and a silly pop song to indicate the riotous fun and excitement present during our management training classes.  We pushed this video out to participants through our LMS along with digital files reinforcing the materials used and discussed.

My biggest criticism of the video is that it is a little too long at nearly 6 minutes.  I am not sure if the employees will watch for the entire time or skip through it.  Hopefully they will be interested enough in seeing their coworkers’ performances to stick around until the end.  For the next in the series, due out next month, I will shoot for a 3 minute reinforcement scenario.

 

 

 

Published by

Darlesa

Merging a lifetime in the arts and over 15 years in marketing and communications with a passion for learning and helping others learn, I take pride in striving to design online and blended learning experiences which engage thoughtful reflection, improve performance and motivate and excite learners … or at least make compliance training a little less painful :)

Leave a Reply

